Beautiful Skyscrapers

Skyscrapers

Skyscrapers are beautiful structures. I might be from rural New Zealand but I’m a city boy at heart and for me there’s no better sight than seeing the sun set over a city view that encompasses the futuristic silhouette of skyscrapers. I remember pouring over photos of American cities back when I was kid, I was fascinated by films set in New York such as King Kong and Ghost busters, they just seemed so different from home. I longed to live on the 40th floor of a skyscraper in downtown Manhattan, what view that would be!

Skyscrapers really are the perfect example of man’s triumph over the limitations of space. They also mirror our upward ambitions and pioneering attitude. I’ve been to New York and it was everything I had hoped it would be, but my real dream is to visit the ultimate skyscraper: the Burj Khalifa in Dubai. It’s the tallest building in the world, reaching almost a kilometer above ground with 163 floors! As befits such a masterpiece of modern architecture, it also contains apartments, shops, swimming pools, hotels, restaurants and a library.This is a modern marvel with no matching the architecture. Small buildings are a thing of the past. Very soon all land will be covered with these tall structures. Seems right out of a sci-fi movie right. Even in New Zealand these structures are coming up, and there is no stopping them.I need to get saving because there are plenty more skyscrapers like these on my bucket list.

Leave a Reply

